Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

TMQB - The Playoff Edition Part 1

A regular season marred by hurricanes and bad weather now heads into the post-season. 
11 Chronicle Country teams will begin their quest for SC High School League state championships.  
There's no shortage of match-up storylines.

Defending 2-time Class 5A champion Dutch Fork enters the post-season looking to extend several streaks:
- 20 straight overall wins
- 16 straight road victories
- 10 straight playoff victories
Should the Silver Foxes advance to the third round, it would need to win twice on the road to return to Williams-Brice Stadium for the Dec. 7 state final.


"The Swamp" will hold its first-ever home football playoff game when River Bluff plays Conway. The Gators (8-1) can break their school record for victories set in 2014. 
Gilbert and Airport will also hold first-round home games. 
Region 3-2A champion Gray Collegiate will play its first-round Class 2A playoff "home" game at Benedict College against Latta. 
Lexington is 1 of 6 Chronicle Country teams opening the playoffs on the road. The Wildcats travel to Conway to face Carolina Forest in a rematch of last year's post-season opener won by the Panthers 34-21 in Lexington. 
After an 0-7 start, the Tigers have won three consecutive games to end the regular season. They posted a season-high in points in defeating Calhoun County 42-22. 
WEEK 11 PLAYER OF THE WEEK - Ed Dwyer (Pelion)
The Panthers' running back had a career-best 136 yards and 2 TDs in the 48-8 win over C.A. Johnson.

Roger Pedroni (Chapin) - 178 passing yards 
James Wells and Sam Greer (both of Chapin) - 9 tackles each
Pryce Whitten (Pelion) - 9-17 passing, 145 yards, 2 passing TDs
Travon Austin (Pelion) - 6 receptions, 106 yards, 2 TDs
Chris Goodyear (Pelion) - 2, 30-yard FGs


A 3rd post-season high school football game for seniors will take place this fall.
The inaugural Columbia Metro Senior Bowl will be at 2 p.m. Dec. 22 at W.C. Hawkins Stadium with seniors from 38 Midlands public and private schools.

The West team will be made mostly of Chronicle Country schools from Lexington and parts of Richland County. Irmo head football coach Reggie Kennedy will lead the West with assistant coaches from Assistants: Erik Kimrey (Hammond); Robert Stogner (Chapin); Marlin Taylor (Dutch Fork); Gary Smallen (River Bluff); Kirk Burnett (Airport), Phil Strickland (Newberry) and Mark Cagle (Gilbert)
Shrine Bowl and Touchstone Energy Cooperatives North-South Classic selections are ineligible for the Metro Bowl. BSN Sports will provide the uniforms and coaches' apparel for the game. Portions of the proceeds will go towards Palmetto Children's Hospital.
The following players selected to the West team: 
QB – Brandon Caughman (Airport) and  John Ragin (Irmo)
RBs – Kendrell Flowers (Irmo); Antonio Gantt (River Bluff) and Jeremiah Green (Pelion)
WRs – Travon Alston (Pelion); Keenan Coats (Swansea); Joe Pradubsri (Brookland-Cayce) and Kyser Samuel (Gray Collegiate)
TE – Cleburne Gray (River Bluff)
OL –  Hampton Ergle (Lexington); Cameron Johnson (Dutch Fork); Sean Miller (Airport); Tyrick McCoy (Brookland-Cayce) and J.C. Redmond (Airport)
DL – Kendrick Allen and Jamar Walker (both of Dutch Fork); Wyatt Hall (Lexington); Noah Johnson (River Bluff) and David Kinard (White Knoll)
LBs – Josiah Commander (Dutch Fork); Dillon Cornwell (Gilbert); Logan Cripe (Lexington); Paul Edwards (Brookland-Cayce); Julius Land (Irmo) and Jake Watson (Chapin)
DBs – Jacob Bannister (White Knoll); Allen Fields (Swansea); Okachi Emmanwori (Irmo); Taylor Lehman (Chapin); Cody Temples (Gilbert) and Jaewon Williams (Batesburg-Leesville)
Athlete – Tay Wilson (Batesburg-Leesville) and Dante Williams (Swansea)
Kickers – Coltin Hallman (River Bluff) and Alex Nelson (Chapin) 
Head coach: Reggie Kennedy (Irmo)  Assistants: Erik Kimrey (Hammond); Robert Stogner (Chapin); Marlin Taylor (Dutch Fork); Gary Smallen (River Bluff); Kirk Burnett (Airport), Phil Strickland (Newberry) and Mark Cagle (Gilbert)

Brookland-Cayce quarterback Reed Charpia leads all Chronicle Country players in passing with 2,699 yards and 16 TDs. Just behind Charpia is Gray Collegiate Academy quarterback Hunter Helms, who  finished the regular season with 2,657 yards and 21 TDs in winning Region 3-2A Player of the Year...River Bluff running back Braden Walker leads all Chronicle County players in rushing with 1,487 yards and 16 TDs. He's one of four local players who've rushed for over 1,000 yards this season. The others are running back Akeem Nicholas (Lexington), quarterback Aveon Smith (White Knoll) and running back Kazarius Adams (Gray Collegiate)...Dutch Fork wide receiver Gage Zirke has 1,094 receiving yards and 12 touchdowns, followd by Brookland-Cayce's Joe Pradusbri with 1,000 yards and 6 TDs...Gray Collegiate Academy linebacker Dominique Barksdale has 120 tackles, followed by Logan Cripe of Lexington with 115. 


(All games start at 7:30 p.m. Friday) 

South Florence at Dutch Fork
Conway at River Bluff
Irmo at Berkeley
Lexington vs. Carolina Forest (at Coastal Carolina)
Marlboro County at Airport
Brookland-Cayce at Beaufort
Swansea at Manning
Pelion at Hanahan
Georgetown at Gilbert
Batesburg-Leesville vs. Columbia (at Keenan H.S.)
Latta vs. Gray Collegiate (at Benedict College)



•(WBLR 1430 AM) - B-L vs. Columbia 7:30 p.m. 
•(WDEV 97.9 FM & 1170 AM) - Lexington at Carolina Forest 7:30 p.m.


•( - B-C at Beaufort 7:30 p.m.




Mailing Address:
     PO Box 9 Lexington
     SC 29071
Street Address:
     131 Swartz Rd.
     Lexington SC 29072
Phone: 803-359-7633
Fax: 803-359-2936