Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
  • Chapin/Newberry champions
    (PHOTO | ROB LIVINGSTON) The 2015 American Legion World Series champion Chapin/Newberry Post 193/24

RECOGNITION - Chapin/Newberry celebrates 5-year anniversary of American Legion World Series title

Article Image Alt Text

On Aug. 18, 2015, Chapin/Newbery Post 193/24 accomplished a feat that no South Carolina American Legion team had done in nearly 8 decades.

With the final out in a 9-2 victory over Retif Oil Post 125 out of New Orleans, La., Chapin/Newberry claimed the 2015 American Legion World Series championship in Shelby, NC. It was a culmination of a 32-1 season in which Chapin/Newberry swept through region, state and Southeast regional play before emerging out of the loser’s bracket to claim the trophy with a 4-1 record. 

The team was led by head coach Daniel Gregory and assistant coaches David Coats, Anthony “Amp” Anderson, Michael Robertson and Marion Baker. Most of the players came from Mid-Carolina (Danton Hyman, Duncan Campbell, Trey Huber, Ryan Stoudemire, Justin Hawkins, Josh Haney and Corey Stone), Clinton (Tristan Smaltz, Deishun Young, Peyton Spangler and Landon Allison) and Newberry (Patrick Yoder, Kevin Burton, Andrew Livingston and Ryne Huggins) high schools. Seah Riehm, Zake Ziesing and Blake Smith were also on the roster.

Spangler, Hawkins, Hyman and Huggins were named to the ALWS All-Tournament team. Hawkins won the Rawlings Big Stick and RBI awards and Coaches Gregory, Baker and Robertson and team managers Robert Livingston and Ken Minasian received the Leadership Award. 


Mailing Address:
     PO Box 9 Lexington
     SC 29071
Street Address:
     131 Swartz Rd.
     Lexington SC 29072
Phone: 803-359-7633
Fax: 803-359-2936